The establishment of the Mechanical Engineering Education Department began with the opening of the BI/BII course by the Ministry of PD and K in 1956 which aimed to increase teaching staff in technical schools throughout Indonesia. In 1961, based on the Decree of the Minister of PD & K No.7/1961 dated February 7, 1961, the BI/BII course changed to the Faculty of Teacher Training and Education, the Engineering Section with two majors, namely the Department of Machinery and the Department of Building. Then in 1963 in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of PTIP No. 55 of 1963, the Technical Department of FKIP was officially changed to the Faculty of Engineering Teacher Training (FKT) as part of the Yogyakarta Teacher Training and Education Institute (IKIP Yogyakarta). With the need for teachers (STM) and instructors for the Mechanical Engineering Training Center (BLPT) which had an impact on the development and number of students, in 1981 the Department of Mechanical Education as part of the Faculty of Engineering Teacher Training (FKT) moved location to the north of the center of IKIP Yogyakarta.

The use of the new building was inaugurated directly by President Soeharto. The location change was made because of the assistance from the World Bank Project for the building which includes lecture halls, laboratories and workshops as well as practical equipment. With the help of the World Bank project, curriculum changes were also made to the STM curriculum with activities in workshops and laboratories. Change the name of IKIP Yogyakarta to Yogyakarta State University (UNY) Based on Presidential Decree No. 39 of 1999, provided a new atmosphere for the Department of Mechanical Engineering Education. As an effort to meet these changes, starting in 1997 a new study program was opened, namely the Diploma 3 Mechanical Engineering Study Program. The study program in the Department of Education continued to develop from time to time. Until now, the Department of Mechanical Engineering Education has five study programs, namely the Mechanical Engineering Education Study Program (S1), the Mechanical Engineering Study Program (D3), the Mechanical Engineering Study Program, the Applied Undergraduate Program (D4), the Manufacturing Engineering Study Program (S1), and the Mechanical Engineering Study Program. Master of Mechanical Engineering Education (S2).


Drs. Soekoer
Drs. Djoemadi
Drs. Subiyono, M.P.
Drs. Moch Alip, M.A.
Drs. Faham, M.Pd.
Drs. Sudji Munadi, M.Pd.
Drs. Widarto, M.Pd.
Drs. Bambang SHP, M.Pd.
Dr. Wagiran, M.Pd.
Dr. Ir. Sutopo, M.T.